• Brian L. Barefield

Prairie View A&M University Men’s Basketball Program Awarded With Postseason Awards

Photo Credit/PVAMU Athletics

Tuesday was a happy day on “The Hill” as the Southwestern Athletic Conference released its 2020-21 All-Conference team selections and Coach of The Year Award.

Head coach Byron Smith, who has led his team to a 44-5 conference record over the past three seasons including a perfect 13-0 record in 2020-21 took home his third consecutive Coach of The Year Award. During that stretch the Panthers have claimed three regular season titles and was selected to the NCAA Tournament after winning the conference tournament title in 2019.

Photo Credit/PVAMU Athletics

Redshirt Junior Cam Mack was selected to the All-SWAC First Team after a stellar year at the point guard position for the Panthers. The former Nebraska Cornhusker led the conference and was tied for first nationally in assists at 8.4 per game and was also just as effective on the defensive end of the court averaging 2.9 steals a game which placed him third in the nation in that category while leading the SWAC.

After leading the Panthers in scoring (14.6) and rebounds (6.3), junior guard Jawaun Daniels was honored with a spot on the All-SWAC Second Team. The Harlem, New York native was awarded the BOXTOROW National Player of the Week with his stellar performance in three victories during the last week of regular season play where he averaged 21.3 points, 7.3 rebounds and also shot over 60 percent from the field (67) and three-point range (64).

The Panthers are the top seed in the Cricket Wireless SWAC Basketball Tournament, and will open up against Mississippi Valley State March 10 at Bartow Arena in Birmingham, Ala.

5 views0 comments